You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Technical Help and Bug Reporting

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.8 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Technical Help and Bug Reporting » 3D sound not initializing!
Bottom
Topic Subject:3D sound not initializing!
Finster150
Legionary
posted 03 July 2013 03:52 EDT (US)         
Hello, and thank you in advance for the help!
I have been browsing the internet for far too long trying to find a solution to my particular problem, and so far one has not appeared to me. If nothing turns up (which I highly doubt) I'll fall back on pre-ordering Rome II: Total War :P I will describe how the issue began.

I installed the SPQR 8.0 mod, but not realising it was not made for total noobs, I was utterly defeated with the first battle with Hannibal. I lack confidence anyway, so I promptly decided the mod was not for me. I therefore decided to completely reinstall Rome: Total War to remove this mod. After a cursory glance around the Rome: Total War folder in Program Files(x86) and the menu that opens up when the CD is inserted, I found no uninstall option. Therefore, I proceeded to delete the Rome: Total War folder. This is where the issues began. I put my CD back in and tried to install it again. However, only the "Play Rome: Total War" and "Play Barbarian Invasion" buttons were highlighted, not the install button. I tried the manual uninstall option (Deleting the registry files) following the advice of some forum posters. I noticed loads of the files were already gone, and this did not solve my problem once I had completed it. I looked around the web, found no answers, and decided to system restore back to two days ago. I did this successfully, and went to run Barbarian Invasion, however the "3D sound not initialised" error came up. I tried it again, then tried vanilla Rome: Total War. The same thing happened. Once again I searched through hundreds of forum posts and not a single o