You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Rome: Total War Discussion
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.15 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Rome: Total War Discussion » Newbie needs help to Improve control and movement of Forces
Bottom
Topic Subject:Newbie needs help to Improve control and movement of Forces
Severe
Legionary
posted 22 May 2006 13:35 EDT (US)         
I am a newbie and need to to become more proficient at moving my units around the battlefield. I'm am looking for
a strategy guide that would help me and focuses very strongly upon this topic. All help would be vastly appreciated. By the way, I own the Gold Edition.
AuthorReplies:
EnemyofJupitor
HG Alumnus Superbus
posted 22 May 2006 13:46 EDT (US)     1 / 15       
Some advice I can give you here and now is:
Practise on custom battle
Keep flicking your eyes down to the unit bar periodicly- that way you won't have as many units standing around, or being isolated and wiped out.
Don't just concintrate on one part of the battlefeild. It may be fun to watch the buggers kill each other, but it could cost you the game. If you've seen Time commanders on the BBC, you'll know what I mean.
Learn to be a good micromanager
Walk troops if it's not importaint.

That's all my gems off hand.

And I shall go Softly into the Night Taking my Dreams As will You
taccovert4
Legionary
posted 22 May 2006 14:37 EDT (US)     2 / 15       
Severe,

For learning to control your units on the battle map, I would recommend the following strategy

First, learn the stats of the major line units of each civ. You'll know them all eventually, but knowing the line units stats is more important early on than knowing the stats of special units (mercs, arcani, etc.)