Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.11 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Rome: Total War Discussion » Boring after a while
Bottom
Topic Subject:Boring after a while
Opeth
Legionary
posted 17 July 2006 19:18 EDT (US)         
Hi all. this is first post. Been reading around for a while and it seems like a great forum.

To the topic, I've been playing RTW for maybe 5-6 months now. After the first 20-40 rounds im getting bored. Dont misunderstand me now, the game is great.
But it's to reapeting later on.
Full stack battles all the time, huge amount of money, cities going berserk, and so on.
So i start a new campaign (again.. already? -yes) and lalala, building my little nice empire, taking care of the money problems and voila, there again. And the most boring thing is to fight full stacks of phalanx troops almost each round.

I am trying to get the sparkle back and need a "new way" of playing the game, anyone got some advice to perhaps a little more odd way of playing or perhaps more challenging.
Im gonna try Numida on VH/VH now

Thanks to any advice.
Cheers

AuthorReplies:
Teh_Diplomat
Legionary
posted 17 July 2006 19:50 EDT (US)     1 / 11       
Short Campaign may be your solution.

Or if you get bored of fighting as you put it "Full Stack VS. Full Stack" try breaking your army into 2-3 groups and traveling together. that way when you engage in combat you'll start surrounding the enemy.

Rabidnid
Banned
posted 17 July 2006 19:57 EDT (US)     2 / 11       
Barbarian Invasion expansion.

No phalanx, but a lot of other new infantry types. Rome is totally different to run and the barbarians vastly different as well. The hordes are similar to each other but still have a diverse range of troops, and as they are all moving and agressive campaign outcomes tend to be more diverse as well.