Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.4 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Rome: Total War Discussion » Formation Question
Bottom
Topic Subject:Formation Question
Delcore
Legionary
posted 29 July 2015 18:10 EDT (US)         
To preface, I'd just like to say that I dug around the forums and google for my specific problem but can't honestly seem to find the solution to my particular problem. So, please don't crucify me if there is a thread that already exists for this. I looked hard.

Anyway, I just got done watching this RTW on Youtube

Link - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zIBNqqa2Tcw

At around 4:09 the player says to "hold alt + double right click". However, every time I do this action the only thing that happens is that my formation is locked in the state where my army is currently standing and can only rotate in a 360 degree angle. What can I do to fix this problem?

I'm rather new to multiplayer and have been trying to utilize hotkeys and online resources to get better at forming formations. Would appreciate any advice!

P.S. - How do you select a specific unit of the same type all at once?

[This message has been edited by Delcore (edited 07-29-2015 @ 06:10 PM).]

AuthorReplies:
General Sajaru
Tribunus Laticlavius
posted 29 July 2015 18:36 EDT (US)     1 / 4       
Typically, holding down the alt key changes your unit's attack from primary to secondary when you right click. In cavalry with spears as well as swords (or maces, in the case of cataphracts) this has your troops attack with their swords or maces instead of their spears. For units like legionaries, this has them use their swords instead of their pilia. If holding down the alt key and right clicking on your enemy doesn't work, I'd look at your hotkeys and see if alt has been mapped to something else.

To select all units of a certain type, simply hold down the ctrl key and double click on one of the unit's cards at the bottom of the screen.