You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Medieval 2 Strategy Discussion
Moderated by SwampRat

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.9 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Medieval 2 Strategy Discussion » Pleasing the Pope? Double-standard?
Bottom
Topic Subject:Pleasing the Pope? Double-standard?
futurehermit
Legionary
posted 04 August 2011 12:43 EDT (US)         
I'm relatively new to M2TW after playing RTW. It seems that M2TW is more challenging both on the battle and campaign maps.

One issue I'm having is keeping the Pope happy. For the most part, I do what the Pope asks me to do unless it seriously conflicts with my present goals. However, the Pope seems to continually stick a fork in my eye. Here is the situation:

I'm playing as England. I took York, but then turned my attention on the mainland rebel settlements, starting with Antwerp. So, I secured the 4 northern rebel settlements and then turned my attention to the Irish and western English settlements. I was planning to then take out Scotland and Inverness, but Scotland had just allied with HRE, who I allied with because they were very strong militarily and too close to my empire for comfort--I wanted to focus on attacking France without being dogpiled, if I could help it.

Now, the thing is, meanwhile France had gotten excommunicated while my main force was to the North and both Spain and Milan attacked France with strength. Milan occupied Paris and then France vassaled to Milan, ending the war. That threw a wrench into my plans, because Milan was very strong militarily also.

While I was building up military to attack Milan/France, Milan/France attacked me. I am happy about this because then I can counterattack without seeming the aggressor. However, as soon as I throw back their armies and siege Paris, in comes the Pope with a "don't attack for 7 turns or you're excommunicated" warning. And I'm like "he started it!"