You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Medieval 2 Strategy Discussion
Moderated by SwampRat

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.5 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Medieval 2 Strategy Discussion » Some early-game HRE help for a beginner
Bottom
Topic Subject:Some early-game HRE help for a beginner
TwoSeventy
Legionary
posted 13 May 2013 16:56 EDT (US)         
Hi, I'm new to Medieval 2, and still fairly new to the Total War series. I picked up Rome like two months ago and played 3-4 long campaigns-- up to medium/medium level.

I thought I'd check out Medieval 2 for a change and after playing and winning the Battle of Agincourt for a start I went for a HRE campaign-- easy/easy, it's my first one after all.

I quite like the campaign, but after snatching up the rebel settlements around me I'm kind of lost as to what to do.

The pope doesn't seem to like me attacking people, and no one will do me the favor and attack me instead. Maybe that's a problem with the easy difficulty-- enemies being too docile--, but right now it just means I don't really know what to do.

It's I think Turn 16ish? and I've picked up Hamburg, Stettin, Magdeburg, Prague, Florence, Bern, Dijon, Metz, and I'm going to get Brussels in a turn or two. The Scots picked up Antwerp.

I also decapitated the Danes in a quick strike and took Aarhus and eliminated them-- they had just their king sitting in there with their armies being far away, that was just too good to pass up. Which also leaves Oslo and Stockholm free for the taking.

But after that I'm surrounded by other nations who don't seem to want to attack me. That's something I'm totally unfamiliar with from Rome where basically almost everyone is at war with each other all the time.