You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Rome Strategy Discussion
Moderated by Terikel Grayhair, General Sajaru, Awesome Eagle

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.12 replies
Total War Heaven » Forums » Rome Strategy Discussion » TW 'External Lines' Theory
Bottom
Topic Subject:TW 'External Lines' Theory
SD2000
Legionary
posted 21 January 2012 15:24 EDT (US)         
Hi all

I am not that experienced at TW; about 5 months on and off of RTW, Barbarian Invasions and Medieval 2 (still think RTW is the most complete) but have faced a very similar situation in 2 different campaigns. I thought I would share my solution with you.

The first campaign where I faced this problem was when playing as Hungary in Medieval 2. Having conquered Greece and the Venetians and made a few other minor European conquests I took the first towns on the western Turkish coast. I then realised that the Mongols had ALL the rest of the east (Armenia to Egypt in RTW terms).

The second time a similar problem occured I was playing as Pontus in RTW. This time I had nearly all of Asia Minor (not Tarsus) and Armenia down to Susa. The Egyptians had the rest of the east.

Both times I had to defend the western front and deal with an enemy superior in numbers, land mass and money.